The Gleghorn Rotunda - In September 1889 the Blenheim Borough Council received a request from Mr Fred Hale, Secretary of the Garrison Band, to erect a band rotunda in Market Place in central Blenheim. The site where the Rotunda now stands was initially occupied by a well which fed the town’s hand-operated fire pumps. This well was later filled in and replaced by a fire hydrant that was fed through pipes from the nearby river.
The Blenheim Chief Post Office - After two previous wooden Post Offices burnt down, the Government decided to construct a new building in Blenheim’s Market Square from concrete, to house the Post Office and other departments, including Customs, Crown Land and (Farm) Stock. Building was started in 1877 and completed in July 1878 at a cost of 11,000 pounds. The Post Office was situated in the lower right section of the building with its own entrance. The building was embellished with a Coat of Arms of the Lion and the Unicorn over the main door, on the roof (and another round the side over the Post and Telegraph), and two female statues in niches in the wall above the main door, one to represent “Justice” and the other “Truth”, all moulded in concrete. From the time it was completed the iconic Blenheim Government Building was the focus of attention for most of the early postcard photographers. It was a well-designed, imposing building of the time, which dominated the Market Square of the small town.